Skip to main content

Table 4 Classification of neck dissections*

From: Neck dissections: radical to conservative

Comprehensive neck dissection Radical Neck Dissection
  Extended Radical Neck Dissection
  Modified Radical Neck Dissection type I
  Modified Radical Neck Dissection type II
  Modified Radical Neck Dissection type III
Selective neck dissection Supraomohyoid neck dissection
  Jugular (antero-lateral) neck dissection
  Central compartment (anterior) neck dissection
  Posterolateral neck dissection
  1. *The nomenclature of various selective neck dissections are not recommended for usage. They are replaced with SND followed by the nodal levels or sublevels removed. However these named procedures are retained here as this is a transition phase and this nomenclature was being followed not very long ago.